The Sir Martin Gilbert History Prize

The 2022 competition has now closed. Check back soon for the details of the next competition.


The Sir Martin Gilbert Learning Centre is delighted to announce the winners of the 2022 Sir Martin Gilbert History Prize. Selected from a strong field of entries were:

First Prize: Timothy Browning (Woking College)

Second Prize: Elizabeth Birch (Farlingaye High School)

Third Prize: Isla Mackintosh (The Cotswold School)

All of our winners will receive cash prizes and book tokens for their school history departments.

Well done to all who took part! We look forward to announcing our new essay question for 2023 soon.

The quality of the entries was incredible. This is a great way of encouraging the next generation of historians. A fitting tribute to Sir Martin.

Allen Packwood, Director, Churchill Archives Centre